Uttar Pradesh Wild Life

Chandraprabha Sancturay

Established in 1997, Chandra Prabha Sanctuary, a small sanctuary sprawling over an area of 78 sq. kms, is located on Naugarh and Vijaigarh hillocks in Vindhya forest range, in Chandauli district. The sanctuary, rich in varied types of flora and fauna is a feast to the eyes and a perfect treat for the nature lover. It has a rich and varied wildlife, which comprises of panther, chinkara, sambar, chital, partridge and peafowl. Leopard, hyena, jackal, wolf and 'sehi' bear can be seen roaming around in the tranquil environs of the park. The park is a bird watchers' paradise, as one can see around 150 species of birds. The wild vegetation comprises mahua, saagun, amaltas, tendu, koraiya, ber etc.

Hastinpur Sanctuary

Founded in 1986, in Meerut, Ghaziabad, Bijnore and Jyotiba Phule Nagar, The Hastinapur Sanctuary sprawling in an area of 2073 sq. kms, is inhabited by varied types of wild animals like the swamp deer, chital, nilgai, wolf, leopard, hyena, gharial and wild boar. The population of the wild animals includes various species of animals including antelope, sambhar, cheetal, blue bull, leopard, hyena, wild cat, and different types of birds. It also houses alligators.

Kaimoor sanctuary

Kaimoor sanctuary, located on the Uttar Pradesh - Bihar border, is spread over an area of 500 sq. km. The sanctuary, established in 1982 is easily accessible by road. The wildlife population comprises leopard, blackbuck, chital, chinkara, ratel and peafowl. The main species of wild animals found in the sanctuary are those of antelope, blue bull, wild cat, karakal, and bijju. There are quite a few varieties of local & migratory birds forming a large part of the wild population. Important Vegetation includes saal, sheesham teek, mahua, jamun, siddha, salai, koraiya and jheengar.

Mahavir Wildlife Sanctuary

Located in Lalitpur in Uttar Pradesh, the Mahavir Wildlife Sanctuary is spread over an area of 5.4 sq. km. The sanctuary is 125 km from Jhansi, the magnificent gateway to the Bundelkhand region, rendered famous by the legendary Rani Laxmi Bai. Some of the key attractions of the sanctuary are the leopard, neelgai, wild boar, and sambhar. The main population of the sanctuary consists of animals such as leopard, neel gai, wild boar and sambhar and there is a rich variety of avian population. The region is also very rich in flora.

National Chambal Sanctuary

The National Chambal Sanctuary, located in Etawah, near Agra is spread over an area of 635 sq. kms. Established in 1979, the park has a rare collection of exotic rarely found species. The unusual gangetic dolphin is the main attraction of National Chambal sanctuary. The sanctuary is presently a part of a large area co-administered by Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh and Uttar Pradesh. The main attraction of the sanctuary is the rare gangetic dolphin. The park is inhabited by crocodiles, alligators, chinkara, sambhar, nilgai, wolf and wild boar. There are also a large number of terrestrial and aquatic animals.

Nawabganj Bird sanctuary

Nawabganj bird sanctuary, located 45 kms from Lucknow is Home to several migratory and water birds. An ideal site for bird watching and photography, this sanctuary has a huge marshland and shallow lake bordered with mixed dry forest. The avian population of the sanctuary comprises among others the pochard, shoveller, woodpecker, parakeet, coot, purple moorhen and common teal. This sanctuary is also rich in avian population. It has a good number of avian population including pochard, shoveller, woodpecker, parakeet, coot, purple moorhen and common teal.

Ranipur Wildlife sanctuary

This 230 sq. kms.of sanctuary is rich in wildlife. It is the natural habitat of many animals including leopard, tiger, sloth bear, sambar, blackbuck, peafowl, spur-fowl, jungle fowl, printed partridge, fishing cat and chinkara.



India - Andhra Pradesh - Arunachal Pradesh - Assam - Bihar - Chhattisgarh - Goa - Gujarat - Haryana - Himachal Pradesh - Jammu Kashmir - Jharkhand - Karnataka - Kerala - Madhya Pradesh - Maharashtra - Manipur - Meghalaya - Mizoram - Nagaland - New Delhi - Odisha - Puducherry - Punjab - Rajasthan - Sikkim - Tamil Nadu - Tripura - Uttarakhand - Uttar Pradesh - West Bengal - Indian Search Engines - Official India map

MaharashtraWeb.com. Contact Editor