Geography of Rajasthan

The state of Rajasthan borders Pakistan to the west, Gujarat to the Southwest, Madhya Pradesh to the southeast, Uttar Pradesh and Haryana to the northeast and Punjab to the north, covering an area of 342,239 kmē. It has its capital at Jaipur.(Interactive map of Rajasthan)   

The land of Rajasthan is more varied than any other region of the state. It is a region of lofty lands, rolling sand dunes, of burning heat and freezing cold, of fertile plains and deep wide glens and jungles. The main geographic feature of Rajasthan is the Aravalli Range, which runs for about 850 kms, dividing the area into two natural divisions. Mount Abu is the southwest end of this range.  

The northwest portion of the state is dry and sandy and most of the region is covered by the Thar Desert. The land gets comparatively fertile towards the east and northeast.  Being ill watered, because of the Aravalli Range intercepting the moisture giving monsoon winds, this area in thinly populated and the town of Bikaner is the largest city of this area. 

The South-Eastern division which is more prominent and fertile than the North-West has a very diversified character with extensive hill ranges, pockets of woodland, several large rivers, fertile tablelands and stretches of excellent soil. The Arid high plateau of South-Western Rajasthan is broken by wild cliffs and hill ranges. Irrigation dams or deep wells are the source of water for the fields in the oases lying within the Valleys. 

The Luni River and its tributaries are the major river systems of the Godwar and Manwar regions. This river is saline in the lower reaches and remains potable only up to Balotara in the Barmar District. Other rivers include the Ghaggar River which is an intermitted stream that disappears into the sand of the Thar Desert and then appears as the Saraswati River. The southeastern part of Rajasthan is drained by the Banas and Chambal Rivers, both being tributaries of the Ganga. 

The plains here are level and flat, with rich alluvial loam allowing the agriculture of wheat, maize, paddy and sugarcane.  



India - Andhra Pradesh - Arunachal Pradesh - Assam - Bihar - Chhattisgarh - Goa - Gujarat - Haryana - Himachal Pradesh - Jammu Kashmir - Jharkhand - Karnataka - Kerala - Madhya Pradesh - Maharashtra - Manipur - Meghalaya - Mizoram - Nagaland - New Delhi - Odisha - Puducherry - Punjab - Rajasthan - Sikkim - Tamil Nadu - Tripura - Uttarakhand - Uttar Pradesh - West Bengal - Indian Search Engines - Indian Cities Contact Editor